Sports | Front Page

Waverly trio headlines All-SOC soccer honors

Waverly’s Zoiee Smith, above, was named the Southern Ohio Conference Division II’s Co-Offensive Player of the Year, along with teammate Loren Moran.


For the first time in its brief history, Waverly’s girls soccer program captured an outright Southern Ohio Conference title this fall.

The Tigers finished 14-3-1 overall with an 9-0-1 mark in the SOC. Earlier this week, the team received multiple postseason honors.

Seniors Zoiee Smith and Loren Moran were named the co-SOC Offensive Players of the Year while teammate Michaela Rhoads was awarded Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Smith led the team in goals with 37 to go alongside 17 assists while Moran scored 30 goals and had 16 assists. Meanwhile, Rhoads had 49 steals and led the Tigers’ defense.

Waverly’s Chris Murphy was named the SOC Coach of the Year.

Also earning first-team all-conference honors is Waverly’s Amelia Willis, Alexis Murphy, Kylie Smith, Kylee Murphy and Lydia Brown.

Wheelersburg’s Laney Eller, Ellie Kallner, Jocelyn Tilley, Annie Coriell and Brynley Preston, Minford’s Haley Knore, Mychal Cron and Autumn Picklesimer, Ironton St. Joe’s Laiken Unger
and Emma Whaley, Northwest’s Ellie Curtis and Olivia Chambers, West’s Preslee Jenkins and Haven Hileman, Valley’s Lucie Ashkettle were all also first-team honorees.

Second-team all-SOC honors were earned by Waverly’s Lauren Murphy, Emma Davis and Delani Teeters, Wheelersburg’s Olivia Deacon, Taygan Staggs and Kylan Darnell, Minford’s Nevaeh Porter and Bailey Howard, Ironton St. Joe’s Chloe Sheridan and Isabelle Whaley, Northwest’s Jaclynn Burchett, and West’s Allison Cooper.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply